Name Theory: Giving Thanks for the Vision

Sometimes I am blind. I don’t see what is right in front of me on the page. I read my words and I don’t see glaring mistakes, or I don’t see where I haven’t written enough for the reader to see what I see, or what have you.

Writers are too close to their own work, and it is too alive for them to be completely objective. Writers need to rely on others to help them discern where they need to work on their work—whether those others be editors, crit partners, or people who comment on what they have posted online.

Be thankful for the “vision” of readers. Be thankful for their suggestions and opinions. Be thankful for their desire to help.

Every reader’s opinion matters, to an extent.

I am thankful for the woman who kept trying to change the “voice” of my writing, because she also pointed out some glaring mistakes that others didn’t—things that I would not have seen on my own.

I am thankful for the woman who gets all flustered at my suggestions, but does the same for me. Her questions make me think about my story in a new way, and will help my rewrites lead to a more effective story.

I am thankful for the wonderful writer and dedicated editor of her own work who inspires me by her example, and by her keep no darlings attitude. I don’t always agree with her, but I always respect her.

I am thankful for anyone who listens to me drone on about my writing, my characters, my plot, and my process. I love you all for it.

To you and yours: Happy Thanksgiving, Happy Hanukkah, and Happy Thanksgivukkah.

Leave a Reply

