Character of the Week: Bad Driver Names

Sorry to be posting a day late. I have the flu, and I’m not sure I was conscious yesterday morning.

Female, born in the 1980s or early 1990s
Born in the American Midwest.
Other characters include Michelle, Carol, Andy, and Mike.
Works as a truck dispatcher. Not the world’s best driver.
Mainstream Fiction

Since this writer didn’t give me much information about this character (I’m thinking this character is a minor one), I basically looked for names that were popular in the Midwest during the years the character was most likely born. I also looked for names that suited a “bad driver”.

You didn’t give me a lot to go on, so I mostly chose popular names that could go with the names you gave me; keeping in mind that both Michelle and Carol were declining in popularity at the time, these names do offer some contrast in style.

  • Breanna
  • Holly
  • Jasmine
  • Sierra
  • Vanessa

FYI I’m sure you’re aware that Michael and Michelle are essentially the same name, but I just wanted to point that out.

The writer replied: Breanna works for me. Thanks.

It’s obvious this writer likes to keep things simple, from the descriptions of this character to the names given to the other characters. In re-reading this naming, I’m actually surprised that the writer didn’t choose Holly, since it is the least frilly of the names I offered. Still, I did like Breanna best for this bad driver, and I’m glad it was chosen.

Leave a Reply

