Character of the Week: Zombie Apocalypse Names

I recently read my first zombie novel. It was a zombie romance, not a horror. Horror will never be my thing, but the zombie romance was surprisingly good. The best part was that the zombie boyfriend changed for the girl, rather than her having to change for him. Feminism in the post-apocalyptic era.

That read inspired my choice for this week’s post.

Female, early- to mid-40s, Contemporary
Born in Canada to English parents. She is conservative. Her mother was a housewife, and her father was a banker.
Other characters include her daughter Emma, a girl named Olivia, a boy named Logan and his as yet unnamed teenaged sister.
She is a nurse with a very take charge personality, and she also channels this through a need to mother other younger characters.
Adventure

Female, early teen (born in the late nineties), Contemporary
Raised in Canada. She is fairly liberal. Her mother was a chef and her father was a doctor. She is the sister to Logan.
Student/Spunky, brave and loyal.
Adventure

I wish I knew where in Canada these characters were from, since it could have helped me get a better selection of names. As it is the names I found for the mother character were typical names in the USA at the same time.

For the teen I looked for names that could work with Logan, but I was also open to more creative choices since their mother was a Chef.

  • Heather
  • Joanne (Jo)
  • Melinda
  • Tara
  • Susan
  • Pepper
  • Scout
  • Lucy
  • Alexa
  • Zoe

The writer replied: Thanks! This was really helpful. I think I’ll use Susan and Zoe.

I would have liked to have chosen more interesting names for these characters—as an adventure story invites dynamic names—but it was obvious that this writer preferred popular names. I still think a chef’s daughter named Pepper would be a fun choice.

 

NOTE: The writer’s original information referred both to this being in the modern day (which I edited to say Contemporary) and to it being a “Zombie Apocalypse” story. I assume she meant for the story to be set in the near future. I have tagged this post as both Contemporary (since the names are contemporary choices for the characters’ ages) and Dystopian (assuming any apocalypse would lead to the opposite of a utopia).

Leave a Reply

