Character of the Week: Pro and Ant Names

Can you believe yesterday was Monday? It’s a bit of a surprise to me, obviously, since this is late.

PROTAGONIST
Male, born in the mid to late 20th century or early 21st century, probably in the UK
Love Interests are Lisette and Anya. Besides love interests and main antagonist, he interacts with Sofia, Thomas, Paul, Peter, Charles, Nathan, and Tristan.
He used to be a librarian of sorts (although, in title only; he never did any real librarian work). He has blond hair and blue eyes. He’s outgoing and easily excited. He enjoys freedom and walks and people in general. He’s also inexperienced about a lot of things for a while (except for those you can read from books), because he lost his memories, but regained them after some time.

ANTAGONIST
Male, born sometime in the mid to late 20th century or early 21st century (older than protagonist), in Scotland
Love Interest is Ana (different from Anya). Also interacts with all other characters.
He’s a scientist. He can be very manipulative and cruel, but he doesn’t really get that violent. He’s an indirect sort of guy. Also, he’s very intelligent and enjoys watching the MC interact with the others, as long as it doesn’t go too far away from his plans.
Literary Fiction

I didn’t get much of a feel for the plot of this novel, but I got enough of a feel for the characters. I was a little free with the name choices since I felt the writer was still feeling out the characters’ back stories and was open to change their country of origins (or perhaps the country of origin of these characters’ parents).

Mostly British cool geek names.

  • Asher
  • Bennett
  • Dexter
  • Daniel
  • Dante

Mostly Scottish villain names.

  • Demetrius
  • Diarmad: Means without envy
  • Latharn: Means fox
  • Mungo: Means my wolf
  • Gregor: Means valiant

I don’t know why I chose so many D names; I guess I’m letting my personal preferences show.

The writer replied: What a coincidence, because Asher was one of the names I was planning to use for an old novel, but it never amounted to anything and I ended up deleting it. I’ll be using Asher and Demetrius. Thank you for your time.

I didn’t mention the Ana/Anya potential for confusion, because the writer seemed well aware of it. Perhaps the plan was to use that at some point. As a name lover I like the idea of names becoming important to the plot.

Leave a Reply

