Name Theory: Trust

I decided to offer a naming service last year for NaNoWriMo because I noticed so many people saying they weren’t good at choosing names or that they couldn’t think of names. The more I think about it, though, the more I believe they have a simple problem.

Trust.

A writer must trust in herself, in her abilities, in her creative power. Without trust she will not go very far.

The reason why I feel strongly about naming is because I trust my feelings and my instincts, and I trust that I can do a good job at it. Now, re-writes are another thing all-together; but, to be a great writer I’ll have to learn to trust my abilities in re-writes as well.

Today I have a simple and short blog post for you.

Trust.

Trust yourself. Trust your writing. Trust your ideas. Trust your ability to evolve. Trust your names and words and punctuation.

Trust in you.

And think about how trusting in yourself, and committing to your choices, will bring you the freedom you need to create new worlds.

Leave a Reply

